selfiestck

Selfie Sticks have taken our culture by storm. So many people are using these tools for photography that many locations world wide have banned them.  London’s National Gallery joins the Smithsonian and New York’s Museum of Modern Art recently who have banned the use of selfie sticks on the inside of the museum. The reasoning behind this ban has to do with what a representative says ” allows you to invade other people’s personal space.”  Other concerns focus on what could happen, “There is also a risk, while lining up your shot with a selfie stuck inside a museum or gallery, of knocking other people around you or worse, the art.” For me, this seems reasonable and I agree this rule should be in place.

Similar bans have been put into place in other popular locations. My beloved Walt Disney World has banned selfie sticks on rides. Again, this makes sense because all riders are required to keep hands inside the ride. The selfie stick becomes an extension of your body and could result in serious injury for you or other riders.  These rules are logical and should be followed. But this rant isn’t about the rules or why they should be enforced. This rant has to do with the negative  attitude most people seem to have about the selfie stick.

Let me be perfectly honest. I have recently purchased a selfie stick, and I have it with me at all times. I LOVE my selfie stick, and I use it whenever I get a chance. I love taking pictures, but I usually do not take selfies because I do not see a purpose for numerous pictures of myself sitting in the car, or worse in a mirror.  Selfies have been given a bad name because over the past few years all of us have seen way too many bathroom selfies.  I have always taken pictures. I take pictures of flowers and my children. I take pictures of animals and scenery and even an occasional bug or bee. Basically nothing is off limits if I find it interesting.  My family has tons of photo albums of every major and minor event in our lives.  I have recorded my children’s lives in great detail to the extreme in some cases.  Most of the time they give up without a fight and just smile, knowing that soon the pictures will be over. But, in all of this time I realized the one element omitted very clearly is ME!  I am not sure my children would even remember what I look like!  Hence, I began considering the future of my photos.

Most pressing is my concern for my funeral presentation.  You know, the slide show at the funeral that depicts the deceased with a smiling face and participating in happy events with the family.  Well my family doesn’t have those pictures because I am the one on the other side of the camera. I knew I had to do something about this, so enter the SELFIE STICK!  I find myself traveling frequently and taking a picture of myself is often awkward and leaves me feeling ridiculous if I even try. Using the selfie stick doesn’t eliminate this problem. In fact, you have to be VERY confident to use a selfie stick in public. Don’t be surprised if you get odd looks or even have strangers start conversations with you.  I stick to my patent response, “It’s for my funeral slide show..” and I find that stops unwanted conversation very quickly. I can get great pictures using the stick, and I find myself having so much fun taking the picture!

So, this brings me to the next point, why do so many people believe that this is a mark of vanity?  We have all seen too many ridiculous selfies such as the duck face selfie, the gym selfie, the seatbelt selfie, the “just woke up” selfie, the shirtless selfie, the trashy selfie (which takes talent as well), the pregnant belly selfie, and the “yes I am on drugs” selfie.  I will agree that many of those are a mark of vanity, but I do not agree that all selfies are a sign of vanity.  I also agree that not all selfies, like other pictures, should be posted on social media for others to see.

During a recent conversation with a good friend who is a little younger than myself, I began to think the view on this is generational.  It seems that 30 somethings and older do think that selfies are vain.  When I asked the same question to the students in my class who are seniors in high school, they did not feel these were vain at all. They said they were fun, and they enjoyed taking fun pictures and sharing with their friends. (Thank goodness someone developed SnapChat.) Spend enough time with teenagers and I suppose you understand them on a fundamental level because I do love fun pictures as well. I also think this view has much to do with the push in our schools to encourage self esteem.  Why should we be surprised that our teenagers feel good about themselves, take pictures and share them on social media?  We should consider this progress in a culture that makes our girls question their body images to the point they develop eating disorders. So good job guidance counselors in elementary school, now please focus on good judgement when posting these pictures.

As an adult I do not post any of the above selfies.  The pictures I rarely post do have a purpose and generally have a point of focus other than myself.  So, it makes me a little angry when I bring out my selfie stick and hear audible groans from the adults around me, followed by rude comments about my selfie stick.  Yes, I know that I am not a teenager (I am not delusional). Also, I know that I am not a size 0 supermodel (I have a mirror).  Neither of those matter to me because I am really happy with who I am and what I look like right now.  I am happy.  I enjoy pictures.  I will use my selfie stick whenever, wherever, and however I can.  I will try not to violate anyone’s personal space, but I hope the next time you see someone with a selfie stick enjoying their time taking pictures you will keep your negative opinions to yourself.  Simply put, if you don’t like a selfie stick- don’t buy one. But let me warn you, use one once and your life may be changed forever!